GHWRG Undergraduate Dissertation Award 2016

Congratulations to Jonathan Moon who won the Geographies of Health and Wellbeing Research Group Annual Undergraduate Dissertation Prize 2016. Jonathan is a 4th year Masters student in Geography at the University of Nottingham with varied research interests from Medical Geography to Political and Economic Geography.

14212719_10157374021905076_1308950479101742970_n

“My work on the little-known disease ‘Podoconiosis’ was for my third year undergraduate dissertation. I was introduced to the condition by Prof Gail Davey of Brighton and Sussex Medical School, who helped supervise me throughout my work along with my formal supervisors, Prof Mike Heffernan and Prof Matthew Smallman-Raynor at the University of Nottingham.

The final write up of my work – “Long Walk to Freedom: A Geographical Investigation into Podoconiosis Treatment in Northern Ethiopia” investigated a patient treatment programme for Podoconiosis, and specifically how treatment progress was impacted by climatic and demographic factors.

Aside from academia, I am a keen sportsman and spend a lot of time playing Rugby for my university. As for post-university plans, further research or a job in the City look most likely but I am trying to keep my options open as much as possible!”

The GHWRG offers a dissertation prize of £100, sponsored by the international journal Health and Place published by Elsevier. The prize is open to any currently registered undergraduate student in a UK University and will be awarded to the dissertation that exhibits the best overall contribution to any issue relating to health geography. For more information click here.

Leave a Reply

